News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/29/2014 3:34:32 PM to 1/9/2018 12:05:02 AM.

News Flash

Councilwoman Patricia D. Fairclough-Staggers

Posted on: January 29, 2014

[ARCHIVED] Councilwoman Patricia Fairclough Honors local MD-CPS Teachers of the Year

The Homestead Community Center was filled with the best and brightest local educators, all recipients of the prestigious Miami Dade County Public School Teacher and Rookie Teacher of the Year award, on the night of the January City Council meeting.

Councilwoman Patricia Fairclough, a past recipient of the Teacher of the Year award, approached the podium to do the honor of commending them.

“Not to sound biased” she began “but this is one of my favorite presentations. As a teacher at heart and an educator to the core, I think it very fitting that the City of Homestead supports our local teachers and rookie teachers of the year. These teachers represent the head of the class of their respective schools.”

She also thanked the local Olive Garden restaurant and Flagship Cinemas for donating a free dinner and a movie to the honorees. The Councilwoman’s closing remarks emphasized the critical importance of teachers in society. “It’s very important that all our community stakeholders take part in recognizing our teachers for the magic that happens in their classrooms every day.” The honorees were as follows:

REDONDO ELEMENTARYteacher of the year Jessica Arnaiz
rookies of the year Brandi Campbell
Homestead Middle Schoolteacher of the year Marie Elizabeth Juste
rookies of the year Saida Chebbi
Gateway Environmental K-8 Learning Centerteacher of the year Ms. Janine Fernandez
rookies of the year Ms. Yvonne Miranda
Homestead Senior High School
teacher of the year Mr. Jamie Sobalvarro rookies of the year Ms. Pei Hsuan Wu
South Dade Senior High School
teacher of the year Mrs. Teena Brown rookies of the year Mr. Rafael Brioso
Campbell Drive Middle
teacher of the year Carmen Lobaina rookies of the year Stacy Steig
West Homestead Elementary
teacher of the year Pat Collinsrookies of the year Francelene Augustine

Campbell Drive K-8 Centerteacher of the year Jessica Crowley
rookies of the year Jalal Akhtar
Avocado Elementary teacher of the year Mrs. Stephany Denis
rookies of the year none for this year
South Dade Middle Schoolteacher of the year Mr. Daniel Best
rookies of the year Ms. Laura Gibson

Laura Saunders Elementary
teacher of the year Vanessa Valverderookies of the year Raquel Ortega

fairclough teacher of the year 2014